Google+

Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube, Vine allow brands to build visually

9

October 2, 2013 by EmilyCRios

Social media is no longer limited to Facebook posts and Tweets video and photo sharing sites like Pinterest, YouTube, Instagram and Vine have become extremely popular for individuals and for brand’s trying to increase their online presence.

The popularity of these sites illustrate how powerful visuals can be and how they garner more engagement than text alone. According to an infographic included in Visual Content: your New BFF photos and videos are what drive the most engagement on Facebook’s top brand pages with video beings shared 12 times more than links and text post combined and photos linked two times more than text updates.

Vine is a video sharing app that allows users to create, view and upload looping 6 second videos. In six months Vine gained 13 million users and according to a BuzzFork 5 vines are tweeted every second, most vines are sent between 10-11 a.m. and on June 7, 2013 more Vines were shared than Instagrams. Since Instagram launched video capabilities on June 20 it would be interesting to see the comparison between Vines and Instagrams shared and what is being shared.

TechCrunch

TechCrunch

Pinterest is a photo sharing site that allows users can pin images and videos to pin boards. Content posted can be re-pinned or liked by others. Users can also follow boards created by others. Pinterest is all about visuals and can be a perfect place for business to generate an online presence. Kathleen Davis writes why business should be on Pinterest and those reasons lie in the numbers. According to data from Wishpond 43 percent of Pinterest users interact with retailers or brands they like on the site, compared with 24 percent of Facebook users. Wishpond also found that 70 percent of Pinterest users surveyed say they use Pinterest for inspiration on what to buy and that Pins that include an item’s price get 36 percent more likes than pins that don’t.

Based on these numbers every brand should strive to develop a strong Pinterest profile and make Pinterest a part of their social media strategy. The benefits of doing so, according to Roye Okupe, include:

  • Drive massive quality traffic to your site.
  • Get a platform to build relationships with customers and establish credibility.
  • Share content with your followers without having to write lengthy blog post.
  • It is a better choice for sharing business product images and video compared to Twitter and Facebook.

Launched in 2005 as a video-sharing website YouTube, the site now see more than 4 billion hours of viewership a month. YouTube is a major player and as the number 2 search engine it is crucial that brands have a YouTube page and are creating content that is searchable and will draw people back to their main site.

“YouTube, and video in general, allows its users to see the action, to see someone using a product they might be thinking about buying,” Technorati Media CEO Shani Higgins said. “Consumers trust what they can see, and they trust people who have used the products they’re looking into.”

People are accessing YouTube from a variety of sources. When it seems like everyone has a smart phone, tablet or both people can search YouTube wherever they are and because of this the more a brand creates content for the site the more likely it will be that people will see it.

One of the biggest things people fail to realize or forget about YouTube, according to Julie Perry, is that in addition to being a video-sharing site YouTube is also a social network that allows users to like and share videos, add friends, subscribe to channels and interact through comments.

All of these sites can have huge benefits for a brand if the brand adds them to their social media strategy.

 

Should companies have profiles on all the major social media sites or should they focus on those that they feel work best with their brand and their message?

When it comes to YouTube, Instagram, Pinterest and Vine which one are you using the most? How are you using it?

9 thoughts on “Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube, Vine allow brands to build visually

  1. tjstrese says:

    I think a strong social media presence is essential for any business that hopes to be successful. That being said, I do not feel a presence on ALL platforms is necessary, especially for certain types of business such as construction. Construction still has a place on social media, but they should focus their efforts on platforms that will serve them best. Personally, I use YouTube the most of the services that you mentioned and mostly use it to listen to new music or watch videos from my Twitter timeline.

  2. blduckworth says:

    I think companies shouldn’t even both having accounts on social networks if they aren’t going to maintain them. If they don’t have enough resources to push content and engage with users, then I think they should choose a few and focus on those. For major brands, they should be on all of them. Cover all the bases.

    Of the image sharing networks I use Pinterest the most. Vine not at all. Youtube, rarely. Instragram I’ve used a few times. For me Pinterest is the most practical because I get the most from it. Not only do I see photos, I get information that I can use later. Plus, it’s entertainment.

    • EmilyCRios says:

      Blythe,
      I hate when companies have social media sites that they rarely use so I completely agree with you. Major brans should at least test the waters on all sites because chances are their audience will follow them to those sites.

      For me it’s a toss up between Instagram and Pinterest. I use Instagram for personal use to share and view photos from people I know, whereas I use Pinterest to search for things I’m interested in.

  3. Hi Emily,

    I don’t think companies should be on every site possible if they don’t have the right content to push their brand and image forward. I think they should stick with a couple of different sites and focus on using various multimedia within those sites to drive content and grow influence. I am personally using Instagram for me, and Pinterest for me and my business. On one hand I pin a lot of things that are crafts or wedding things, but I also have a board dedicated to Social Media so that I can continue to grow that focus while also enhancing my image and personality through my other boards. I think it is a good way to allow possible followers the ability to see who I am and decide whether or not they are interested in what I have to say. I try to look at all social media platforms like that, and post various things on all of them to allow people a different view on different platforms.

    Great post!

    • EmilyCRios says:

      Hi Amanda,
      I must admit I am kind of obsesses with Pinterest because it is an image driven site. I like being able to see things and instantly feel drawn to them without having to read anything. I don’t think companies should force a presence on a social media site if it is not working with their brand, but I do think they should try them out to see if they get any response from their audience.

  4. smschira says:

    I agree with Amanda and Jake, companies should pick the platforms that will highlight their content in the best way. Like Blythe said, if it’s just going to sit there and not be updated, there’s no point to having it. As far as these four platforms are concerned, Instagram is the only one I have posted original content on and that was only for the extra credit challenge. However, I spend significantly more time watching Youtube videos and pinning images/videos on Pinterest than I do on my Instagram feed. The only time I’ve ever seen Vine videos is if they’re embedded in an article I read or when my 15 year-old niece visits and she tells me to watch them.

    • EmilyCRios says:

      My initial exposure to Vine was through the kids I work with and while I created an account I have never posted anything because once Instagram added video capabilities I had no use for Vine. Personally O have had no reason to create original YouTube content but I need creat content when I was the web editor for my college newspaper.

  5. kblitch says:

    I think that having a strategy for each of these platforms would be a great idea– this is why companies should now consider having a dedicated person or team just for social media as the playing field is changing. You SHOULD be on all of them, pending that it fits for your company/brand.

    I need to develop an Instagram strategy for our Operation. We have two catalog drops a year (with the second one being our “big book”) and should really make better use of the tool and hashtags with the product lines. That would probably be more successful for us than twitter if I executed it correctly.

    • EmilyCRios says:

      I definitely agree that in order to be successful brands need to have people dedicated solely to social media because it is a huge job and things are constantly changing. I think companies should at least try each social media channel before ruling it out, but they have to go into it knowing each site requires a different approach.

Leave a Reply

