Google+

Tips to Build Your Brand in 140 Characters

5

September 10, 2013 by EmilyCRios

twitter-pink-lgPrior to the 2006 launch of Twitter 140 was just another number. Now it serves as the number of characters that can be sent in a tweet on the microblogging site used by millions of people.

As with any tool used to reach an audience before branching out on Twitter brands need to take the time to listen and see what their customers are saying about them. They also need to develop their Twitter voice and decided what their goal for using Twitter is going to be.

Brands should utilize Twitter because of its capacity to connect and interact directly with an endless number of consumers. Of the countless brands with Twitter handles, the most engaged brand is @Notebook which is also know as Notebook of Love.

3 Twitter Engagement Tricks You Should Do Every Day (From The #1 Most Engaged Brand On Twitter)” by Mark Fidelman touches on what three things Branden Hampton, the creator of @Notebook, has done to make his brand the most influential and engaging on Twitter

  1. Create Relevant, Resonant Content: Brands need to deliver content that followers can relate to because if they can relate they are more likely to interact with the brand and share positive experiences with others.
  2. Respond to EVERYONE: Engagement will vastly improve if brands respond to every tweet and answer every question. Follower will most likely retweet brand’s responses or mention the interaction on Twitter, which in turn engages more people.
  3. Don’t Limit Yourself to One Community: Hampton has created multiple sites and brought in different experts to be the voices of the target-specific brands.

According to Hampton, “It’s about finding the right people to create the right content that resonates very well. I train people on creating highly resonate content, and then they can use that information along with their specific expertise and knowledge to create compelling content for that account’s followers.”

Social media manager and entrepreneur Aaron Lee also believes that engagement is crucial in having a successful Twitter account. In his “5 Strategies for using Twitter Effectively,” Lee suggests that users keep tweets short, use only one or two hashtags per tweet, use images, include a call to action and spell our the word Retweet instead of just using RT.

Following Lee’s suggestions will help keep the audience engaged and encourage them interact, which is necessary because if people are not interacting with a brand on Twitter that what is the point of the brand even existing on the platform.

There re numerous lists of how you should use Twitter and how you can become better and more effective at tweeting, but there are also things you should avoid doing on your Twitter account. Kim Garst lists 9 Twitter Fail to Avoid which are:

Fail #1: Using Twitter to make hard sales

Fail #2: Ignoring the conversations about either you or your business

Fail #3: Over-tagging

Fail #4: NOT claiming your name or business name on Twitter

Fail #5: Inconsistent tweeting

Fail #6: Spam kills

Fail #7: A generic business profile

Fail #8: Protecting your posts

Fail #9: The “crazy” profile picture

 

What do you like/dislike about Twitter?

What do you primarily use your Twitter account for?

5 thoughts on “Tips to Build Your Brand in 140 Characters

  1. lutt09 says:

    Hi Emily!

    I personally use Twitter for well, my personal life! I’ve said it before – I love watching Twitter on the nights of season finales or award shows or even big sporting events. I love following “celebrities” and how I feel like I’m getting a glimpse into their personal lives…which obviously makes me feel way cooler than I really am! 🙂

    I’m still struggling with figuring out how to really use Twitter to the best of its ability – and especially how to use it for more of a professional outlet rather than live Bachelor feeds on final rose nights! I think it would be much different if I had my own company or brand or at least worked in a place where it was my job to produce our Twitter content – but I guess I will be well prepared for when the time comes!

    -Lacee

    • blduckworth says:

      Lacee!! My first exploration into Twitter was for the Bachelor feed!! I’m so glad you’re in the class! 🙂

      What I like about Twitter is that I can easily scan tweets and then choose to read the articles. Once I find the right people to follow, it’s a great news source! What I don’t like about Twitter is people who over tweet and clog up my news feed so that I can’t see other people’s tweets. I don’t use Twitter for professional use, just personal, but I’m like Lacee and wondering how I can better utilize it for professional use even if I’m not directly linking to a company.

    • EmilyCRios says:

      Lacee,
      I definitely think not working for a particular brand can make it a bit more challenging to figure out what kind of content you want to produce. I am completely obsessed with Twitter and all things entertainment. I love live tweeting during shows or tweeting about books or movies that I am into. Career wise I would love to work in the entertainment industry in some capacity so I feel like by Tweeting about those things I am showing that I am interested and invested in these brands and that I know how the brands are representing themselves on social media.

  2. kblitch says:

    Up until recently, Twitter has been all about the account I run for the store– it’s only recently that I’ve really been dabbling with my personal account. I’ve had one, I just rarely used it. What I like about Twitter is that it forces companies to think outside the box and get creative in how they brand themselves. Be concise and catchy in 140 characters… and go! If you do it well, you can be very engaging with fans. But as you mentioned, not everyone does it well.

    • EmilyCRios says:

      Staying within the 140 character max on Twitter can seem daunting for some, but personally I love it because I agree with you in that brands need to think hard about how they can creatively get their point across is so little space. I have a journalism background where you learn how to write with a focus and straight to the point in case your story needs to be cut, so I absolutely love Twitter.

Leave a Reply

